Home > Photo Gallery > Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year 2011

Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year 2011

Started in 2010, Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year awards are given to those individuals who have positively impacted the state, brought laurels not only in an individual capacity but also helped put Brand Maharashtra on the Indian and global radar.

In the first edition of the awards, aimed at providing inspiration to Maharashtrians, a galaxy of those who contributed to the society in their own way were given the honours. This included actor-film maker Aamir Khan. Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan presented the awards.

On December 21st 2011 the second edition of Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year Awards was unveiled to an august audience of diplomats and industry icons. At this glittering ceremony in Mumbai, Smt Pratibha Patil, the President of India, gave away the prestigious Maharashtrian of the Year awards for 2011. The President presented superstar Amitabh Bachchan with the Lokmat Maan Bindu Award and Dilip Kumar with the Lokmat Jeevan Gaurav (Lifetime Achievement) Award for their immense contributions to the world of cinema and entertainment.

The President also presented Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year 2011 awards to eight other illustrious Maharashtrians who had worked at the grassroots level, contributing immensely to the progress of Maharashtra in the fields of Social Service/Public Service, Science & Technology, Politics, Business, Arts, Literature,Sports and Entertainment